When the Road Diverges…

I have been a Browns fan since I can remember.  My love for them though grew out of the Bernie Kosar era.  That team, the one featuring Slaughter, Mack, Byner, Dixon and Minnifield solidified my love for the team as well as a certain style of play and a certain type of player.  After losing the team to Baltimore I was crushed.  Since their return in 1999 I lived with hope that one day we would compete again.

The strange thing is that I watched us draft players I loved on Draft day.  Couch, Brown, Warren, Green, Henry, Wimbley, Quinn, Jones, Davis etc… All busts.  All gone.  Now a new era begins under Mike Holmgren and his first draft has hit me like a gigantic disappointment.  I felt Haden was a stretch.  Wanted Mays over Ford.  Have always rooted against McCoy.  So, what does that mean?  Can I still love a team as a whole whose parts are antithetical to my hopes for a championship contender.

I don’t know.  I can only wait to see if this team can endear itself to me.  If not I will probably do what I have since 1999.  Pull for other teams.  Get excited about other games.  Live vicariously through “my type” of players.  I always thought I would bleed orange and brown.  But, somehow, that team I loved so long ago can’t inspire me to continue supporting this franchise.  Wins might cure that.  Maybe not.  Time will tell.

Until my mind and heart can sort this out, I will remain in this realm of disappointment wondering what will happen next.  It isn’t uncommon for fans to watch their favorite players go undrafted by their favorite teams.  I am sure many have been in this position too where the one guy they hoped wouldn’t don their teams colors does.  It is all for entertainment anyway.  I just don’t think I can waste another decade rooting for a team that hasn’t existed since I was a boy.

~ by jpaulnorton on April 24, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
