The World’s Game…

I love the game of soccer.  It’s a global game.  It’s a game that captures the imagination of millions.  But, numerous beautiful chances on goal aren’t as satisfying as a touchdown catch or Kobe dropping 30pts on an opponent.  Unfortunately, the rest of the world doesn’t seem to agree.

Probably another good reason for borders.

~ by jpaulnorton on June 14, 2010.

One Response to “The World’s Game…”

  1. I don’t know what it is for me. Probably a combination of things. But I’ve resigned myself to the fact that few, if any, people that I know of will ever love it the way that I do.
    Everytime I talk to anyone about it, it turns into a conversation of rebuttals. I say it’s intense like Cameron Indoor on steroids; they say it’s sissy. I say I’ve seen two different guys have their leg snapped in two, with bone sticking out; they say there isn’t enough scoring. I say the major plays of the game aren’t always quantified; they say why don’t more people watch? I say I love the passion; they say it’s too violent. I say “you never went to a football game between Statesville and South Iredell. We fought after every game. Or went to any game in Philly. Or went to a Raiders game. Or went to Yankee Stadium as a Sox fan.”
    Blah, blah, blah….
    If I can’t convince guys who play recreationally, then I concede. It’ll just be my special thing. But, it is admittedly disheartening.

Leave a Reply

 
