Transition Period…

Here we  are.  I wonder if I will ever be happy.  I am thinking that I might never see another Cleveland Browns team that I can fall in love with again.  Since 1999 I have watched the rebirth of this team and franchise, the one that since childhood I loved, fail over and over again.  I let my heart try to fall in love with Tim Couch, Courtney Brown, Kellen Winslow, Braylon Edwards, Gerrard Warren and Brady Quinn only to watch them fail, betray us or be discarded like junk.

Today, the team is boasting top level leadership, stability at the coaching positions and a solid mix of veteran and young players.  But, there is still frustration for me.  We have in one offseason brought in three quarterbacks that I despise.  Three guys I have refused to pull for as they lead other teams in college and the NFL.  So, how do I root for them now?  How do I accept them?

I can’t.  That is the dilema.  So, on Sunday’s what do I do?  How can I root for them knowing that if they succeed, I will have to suffer through them for the coming decade.  It is an impossible situation.  One with no simple answer.  But, I fear the day when the Browns take the field and I am pulling for another team, just on the chance the loss could mean we finally bring in another guy to lead this offense.  Unfortunately, this scenario is a lot closer to coming true than many would think.

~ by jpaulnorton on August 22, 2010.

One Response to “Transition Period…”

  1. Get Fox Soccer and become an Aston Villa fan. Nothing goes better with your coffee on Saturday and Sunday mornings than the Premier League.

Leave a Reply

 
